What Is Success?

The answer I keep finding is that success is however you define it. For a long time I strongly disagreed with that phrase. I believed that contentedness in life is up to each person to choose, but success is a less ambiguous measure.

Typical definitions I’ve heard associated with success have been very different: wealth, social circle growth, achievement of individual (yet socially acceptable) goals, work status.

But the idea with all of those definitions is that if those events result in a person feeling like they are successful, then that is when the person is successful. It is possible to achieve measures and not feel like any more successful than when you started. I think I now understand better why there really is no one measure of success (as frustrating as that lack of concreteness is to someone like me) and why each person gets to define success for themselves.

Lately I’ve decided to choose my own definition of success in life to be the achievement of greater patience. My goal is to never rattled by anything that happens.

Now that hard part will be to figure out how exactly to grow my patience…

traffic

 

Leave a comment