Low-Maintenance Hairstyles – Step 1: Face Shape

After struggling for many years of my life with easy to maintain yet very unflattering haircuts that looked so good on other people and looked atrocious on me, I finally came across an explanation – people have different face shapes and the point of hairstyles is to help proportion or hide certain parts of your face.

Initially, I absolutely could not tell face shapes apart – a face was just a face, with a forehead/eyes/nose/chin combo and they all looked roughly the same. It wasn’t until I came across the method of measuring your face and comparing the proportions that I realized there actually were different types and those centimeters made an enormous difference. This Wikihow article was incredibly straightforward and made it very easy to figure out which face shape most likely fits.

Once I was able to figure out what face shape I fell into, figuring out which hairstyles to stay away from was much easier and I had a lot more success with keeping a low-maintenance haircut that didn’t require a lot of upkeep to actually look decent! Although I still like to experiment with hairstyles that I know won’t look good with my face shape just because it’s fun, it’s great to know that there is always a safe, guaranteed hairstyle to fall back to when I don’t feel very experimental.