Survival Strategy #18 – Self-Acceptance

For me and my understanding of the world, the concepts between accepting our own faults and working on our own faults has been tricky. Something that I am still learning is that these two ideas aren’t mutually exclusive – in fact, they are helpful to each other.

In order to start the process of working on my faults, I’ve noticed that I first need to accept that fault about myself and get rid of the shame associated with my perception of it. Once I am able to distance myself from emotionally-charged actions regarding that fault, it’s easier to figure out ways to deal with it and not get as frustrated and discouraged when things don’t exactly go to plan (which is usually the case).

With most personal goals, it isn’t a simple, one or two step process to achieve them. Often there’s a success-fail effect, with an important learning experience at each end of that swing. I’ve found it very helpful to maintain such an approach and to accept that both experiences are very valuable and required in achieving the eventual upwards spiral. The more information and experience I have to work with, the easier it is to know what approach to take in a brand new situation or to take a more creative approach to the same fault that I’ve sucess-failed at multiple times already.

experiences